top of page

5 Tips to Make It Through the Holidays without the Weight Gain

It’s that time of the year again, THE HOLIDAYS!

The looming question that I know is probably been in there air is ‘Where have I been?’

Simple Answer: On a Mommy Hiatus

Meet T2!

Now lets get down to business.

1. Do NOT wait all day to eat

I don’t know about your family, but I know with mine Thanksgiving dinner is typically the first meal of the day. Look at that oxymoron, why should dinner ever be the first meal of the day? Usually the ladies in my family have the kitchen barricaded off and any trespassers are interrogated prior to being allowed entry. This is a recipe for disaster (Pun not intended) because you’re hungry! Now of course when you see a table slammed with Yams, Mac & Cheese, Collard greens with some animal’s neck bone, and ham you’re self control is already non-existent. Don’t do it to yourself. It is totally okay to eat breakfast on Thanksgiving Day.

2. Try an alternative Thanksgiving Meal

I’m saying this as if my family bought into it rolls eyes. I’ve always wanted to try maybe having a themed Thanksgiving that celebrated other cultures various dishes. How clutch would it be to have tacos and tequila for Thanksgiving? Hold the tequila of course LoL. If you’re family is super traditional, this may not go over well, but it’s worth a suggestion.

3. Make the day interactive

If you’re hosting dinner this year, then you call the shots! Make Thanksgiving and Christmas more than simply gathering for a meal. Setup some family activities that take everyone’s attention away from over consuming some of the most calorically dense food available. Try board games, Nintendo Wii, and XBOX games that make you get physical. If you’re family really buys into the idea, meet up for a workout the morning of Thanksgiving and then everyone reconvene for dinner. I don’t know, but I think it sounds fun.

4. Leave the to go plate!

I just cursed didn’t I? Don’t take a to go plate? Who am I kidding? I’m serious…LEAVE IT. #FIRSTOFALL typical family tradition is for Christmas dinner to consist of pretty much the same stuff… So you can wait a month for it. You’ll live. And secondly get back to your routine! Thanksgiving is a day…not a week. Remember that.

5. PORTION PORTION PORTION, did I forget to say Portion?

Yeah I know you don’t want to hear it, but eating anytime of the year boils down to portion control. All of the love and energy people pour into Thanksgiving dinner A.K.A. butter, grease, and salt can make the smallest portion calorically explosive. It’s almost feels like a setup to even attend, but if you decide to indulge do so tactfully. You know whoever cooked the macaroni didn’t do it like your mom, so go ahead and skip that dish. You prefer the broccoli and cheese casserole anyway. Put something green on your plate! If you have dressing, do you really need a roll too? No, you don’t. Put on your plate what you intend to eat and nothing more and preferably a lot less!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page